top of page

GLOBAL DEPARTMENT

A BLOG ABOUT THE THINGS WE DO

Outbound Internship to Singapore YMCA - Techsrun Ly's Story, Day 1


Today is my first day to start my volunteer at Singapore YMCA.

I came here by bus and it was a lot more smooth and convenient then I thought it would be. Basically people can go to almost everywhere in Singapore by bus. And it is very cheap. I get on the bus for around 15 minutes and it cost me around 1 Singapore dollar, which is around 80 Japanese yen. Moreover, Buses in Singapore look cool and they are double-decked. Also, I found a few different points compare to buses in Japan. First, they are not as crowded as buses in Japan. Second, you need to get up and be ready to get out of the bus before the bus stop, which is different from buses in Japan.

After 15 minutes bus ride, I arrive at a bus stop. And Singapore YMCA is in front of me.

I then met Randall, the staff at Singapore YMCA who help take care of me a lot. He guided me around the building. It was surprising that this building has both a gym and a swimming pool. After he guided me to the office where I will be doing my work for the next two weeks.

Randall brief me about the departments and I get to see other staff at Singapore YMCA too. Then I get to my work. My work this time will be about media marketing. So, I started looking at the facebook pages of Uni-Y in different universities. I found many good things about those pages and also found a few things I might be able to improve. The cover photo and design of the page were very professional and I like it a lot. On the other hand, I think those pages could get more engagement if there are more posts with the right timing. Therefore, I start doing research to find out how frequently a facebook page should post to get the best result for engagement. After spending some time, I found a good answer for this.

I then move to a different task of finding out about SNS and Singaporean youths in general. It was quite surprising for me to see that, Singaporean youths spend the most time on SNS compare to their counterparts in APEC. Recent data show that they use a lot of Instagram and Snapchat. Therefore, I think it is important to engage with them and increase the Singapore awareness by using Instagram and Snapchat.

今日はシンガポールYMCAでインターンシップの初日です。ここまでバスで来ましたが思ったよりスムースで簡単に来れました。

シンガポールのバスと日本のバスはかなり違います。まずバスはとても新しくて綺麗です。そして、2階バスもたくさんあります。またバスはそんなに混まないです。最後1番大きな違いはバスを降りる時です。シンガポールでは降りたいバス停に着く前に、席から立ち上がって扉のところに早めに行っておく必要があります。そうしないとバスが待ってくれないので乗り越してしまいます。つまりバスが動いている間に自分がバスの中に歩かなきゃいけないのです。日本では歩かないでくださいと言われるのが普通なんですが、ここは文化と習慣の違いですね。

 そして、シンガポールでは基本的にはバスに乗ればどこでも行けてしまいます。バスに乗って15分ぐらいでしたが、運賃はシンガポールドル1ドルでした。つまり日本円80円ぐらいです。Singaporeの交通費はとっても安いですね。シンガポールYMCAに着いた時にスタッフが迎えに来てくれました。そして館内に案内してくれました。ジムもプールもあってすごい建物でした。

私がこれから2週間のインターンシップで働くのは3階にある事務所です。今回のインターンシップの内容はUni-Yのメディアマーケティングです。早速この団体の様々なFacebookのページを調べました。

それを見ると、とてもよくできているポイントとこれからもっと良くしていけるポイントを見つけました。それらのページのカバーの写真のデザインがとってもよくできていて凄いと思いました。一方投稿のタイミングが合っていればもっとFacebookページが良くなるんじゃないかと思いました。ですので、早速Facebookページの最適な投稿のタイミングを調べました。調べたところ良い答えを見つけました。Facebookページの投稿頻度は週2-3回ベストだとうです。この調査結果を上司に報告したいと思います。

次はシンガポールの若者とSNSの状況について調べました。アジア太平洋国の中にSNS に1番多くの時間を使うのがでした。そして、シンガポールの若者はInstagramとスナップチャットというSNSアプリに使う時間もかなり多いというデータがありました。ですので、Uni-Y もFacebookだけでなく、InstagramやSnapchatといったSNSにも広報活動やったほうがいいと思いました。

CATEGORIES

bottom of page