top of page

GLOBAL DEPARTMENT

A BLOG ABOUT THE THINGS WE DO

Revisiting GYC 2018: Opening Speech by Miho Higuchi, Youth Committee President

There were so many great moments at GYC 2018, and we would like to visit one of them! Here is GYC Youth Committee President, Miho Higuchi's opening speech.

Hello, konbanwa, ni hao ,anyeong, ola, magandang gabi, kop kum ka,halo, ciao, xin chao, bonjeur, as salam mu alaikum

First of all, I want to say welcome to our distinguished guests and delegates from around the world. I am Miho Higuchi, I am the President of the Global Youth Conference Youth Committee and it is my pleasure to meet you all to another inspiring, empowering, and unforgettable 2018 Global Youth Conference - also known as the GYC.

Opening Ceremony MCs, Cayden Hong and Miho Higuchi

I am basically Japanese but I was born in the Philippines. That means I'm a double. I am a very outgoing person. Last year I was a participant at the GYC. The GYC change my life and my perspective in many ways. We discussed different topics, and in my case I was most interested in the topic of gender equality. I heard various opinions from other delegates that helped to increase my understand the challenges for women around the world. At that moment, I realized that I wanted to get more involved so I could make a change. So this year I put my hand up and joined the GYC youth committee.

Just like all of you, I want to make a difference. I started my speech with saying hello in different languages. Do you know why? Because even then I was speaking in different ways, the message is the same - I want to remind everyone that despite the diversity, we are all united and together we can all become global citizens if we are willing to find common ground as people of the world.

A global citizen is like a bridge that connects. And like all other bridges the shape, length, width is different. Just like us right now. We come from different countries. But one thing they have in common is to create a passageway and a strong foundation for our shared future.

Over the next few days, we will discuss and debate a range of topics including AI and Mental illness in youth which are very important topics not only today but also in the future - topics that already affect us in our daily lives as young people. My advice to everyone is don’t be afraid to share your views. Even if your English is not perfect, its okay - Don’t worry! Try to speak and communicate with as many people as possible. Speak out and don’t be shy.

Let me get straight to the point, the GYC will be challenging in many ways. There may be times when you have difficulties in understanding or uncertainty. I encourage you to ask questions and talk to people around you, especially your GYC facilitators. Despite the challenges I know it will also be a lot of fun!

The GYC is in its 4th year. And because of the cooperation of everyone it is successful. We would like to expand and improve the GYC more to be able to raise awareness to youth and to future generations. I want you to think about how you can contribute to the GYC. Remember that young people - that means all of us - are the hope of the community.

As the youth of the present, we are the action and driving force that will bring about positive social and environmental change in our world. I hope that after this week everyone will feel empowered to build bridges and create connections with each other, as we aim to be local leaders on a global scale. I now formally open this year’s Global Youth Conference.

So what are we waiting for, Let’s get started!

CATEGORIES

bottom of page