top of page

GLOBAL DEPARTMENT

A BLOG ABOUT THE THINGS WE DO

Welcome to our 2019 GYC Youth Committee Members!

The Global Department is glad to announce the election results for the new 2019 GYC Youth Committee and would like to welcomes all new members on board. There are 10 - 12 elected members with 4 senior members in the committee.

The following are the senior elected members of the GYC Youth Committee. All of them will be assisting in the running of the GYC, its promotion and all other Youth Committee activities.

Miho Higuchi (President)

Hi there!

I am Miho Higuchi and I am the President of the Global Youth Committee. I am currently a student at Osaka Jogakuin University. I started participating in GYC last 2017 and since then it has changed my view as well as my opinion about my surroundings. I am Japanese but I was born and grew up in the Philippines. Let's say I have a multi-cultural background. Being elected as the president of the Youth Committee is a privilege. I feel happy and excited but at the same time I feel nervous too. I had doubts at first but with the help of other Youth Committee members and the Global Department, I want to be part of the change and together with them we can build a better world for everyone and for the generations to come.

Ayana Iwasaki (Vice-President)

Hello Everyone!

I am Ayana Iwasaki, a third grade student at the International High School of Osaka YMCA. I have joined GYC twice before and I thought I was ready for a bit more of a challenge. Now that I am elected as Vice President, there is a certain amount of stress that comes with it, but I'm willing to try and step out of my comfort zone.

Tetsu Sukegawa (Secretary)

Hello!

My name is Tetsu, I’m from Japan. I’m really excited to join the GYC because I’m really interested in global issues and communicating with people from abroad. I believe the GYC is a great program to improve myself. It’s really an honor to be able to engage in this wonderful project as the Youth Committee Secretary. I will do my best to make this event successful and work with other committee members as much as I can.

Eriko Fujita (Treasurer)

Hello!

I'm Eriko Fujita from Osaka Jogakuin University and I am the treasurer of the GYC Youth Committee. I participated in the GYC for the first time in 2017. During the GYC I met a lot of people from different areas and countries, and it helped me expand my world view. I enjoyed learning and exchanging ideas about current world issues. Also, I liked it that the GYC was held for the young and organized by the young. This year, I joined the Youth Committee and I was chosen for treasurer. It is a great honor! I'll try my best to make the GYC great with other Youth Committee members and staff. I'm looking forward to seeing lots of participants enjoy this event and learn actively!

CATEGORIES

bottom of page